Hello world, this is me

I’m like hey, what’s up, hello. My name is Sophie Angus and welcome to the show. I’m ’bout to write a story introducing me to ya’ll. Welcome to my blog ’cause you’re about to read it all.

Anddddd I’m not some kind of lyrical-genius-rap-god so that’s where my Fetty Wap parody ends.

Let me tell you a story about the time I went to space. Now before you get too excited, I’m referring to media space, not ‘astronaut’ space. As Massey defines it, media space is “not a fixed or material container for things, people or time”. Media space is a more abstract concept, like a virtual world. Let’s face it, it’s really not hard to be a part of that these days.

I honestly feel like I’m in (media) space for about 72% of my day. Every day my morning ritual consists of opening my eyes, reaching for my phone (sometimes before even opening my eyes), and checking Facebook, Messenger, Snapchat, Instagram, Twitter and all those other apps that people have these days… *cough* tinder *cough*.

Woman-in-Bed-on-Phone-634x422

Accurate representation of me every morning

 

I then eat breakfast, and check my social media.

Get on the bus to uni, and check my social media.

Wait for my class to start, and check my social media.

During class, I check my social media, *takes a selfie*, *uploads it to twitter*, *continues to check social media*.

Being present in a media space has become part of the norm these days and I have to say my presence is pretty strong, much like every other human being I know between the ages of 12 and 35. Do I think it’s a bad thing? Not at all. Media spaces allow us to become vastly connected to the rest of the world in a way we never have before. Perhaps there are some places where it is unnecessary to be scrolling through Instagram (don’t do it at church please), but nonetheless media spaces have changed the way of the world for the better.

Anyway, that’s all from me. I’m off to check all of my social media feeds again.

Until next time,
Sophie.

Image via: rachelstourofbeauty.com

 

Leave a Reply

